Marcus Ginyard Has a Summer Job

The N&O spotlights the fact that Marcus Ginyard is one of a few UNC scholarship athletes to work during the offseason. The presumptive heir to the role of David Noel/George Lynch works as a delivery guy [B]Ski’s Tortilla Wrap Grill on Franklin Street. It also should be noted that his effort is all out, even on the job here:

“He hustles,” Smith said, watching Ginyard grab three more orders and speed-walk toward his distinctive ride, which boasts 22-inch rims, plus a leftover driver’s side spotlight — it used to be a Maryland state trooper car.

That’s right. He is driving a car which used to be a Maryland state trooper car.

Man I love this kid.

9 Responses to Marcus Ginyard Has a Summer Job

  1. 52BigGameJames says:

    I tell ya, I’d give him a look at WG…and I’d be sure to let Ellington know. He’s not far off % wise from E from outside, he’s a much better defender, and a better slasher by miles. Better defense and penetration in exchange for (possibly) a few less 3’s? I didn’t pile on Roy after the G’town loss, but if he doesn’t give this a look, my antenna’s going up. Green can play the SF. And, Marcus would play the two in the Pro’s.

  2. Tar Heel Fan says:

    I think he ends up in Terry’s spot at SF. Ellington stays at SG and I hope he shoots the ball well from there. I am not sure Green gives you enough to go as a starter at SF. It will be interesting to see how things shake out after the summer.

  3. 52BigGameJames says:

    with all due respect, I disagree–Green has at least as much potential at SF as Ellington does at WG, which is to say it’s all up in the air. Marcus could still spell Green at SF. I see your point, but if Danny is given the keys at starter, perhaps his self-discipline improves too.

    BTW–how bout Rasheed! Doug Collins made the observation that when Sheed is on his game, he’s the best of the Piston’s–I would wholeheartedly agree!

  4. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Ellington will be under real pressure to be the lights out perimeter threat. I think he still gets a chance to prove he can be that, if not then they will have to run with different lineup. Someone has to step up in the slot or they will not win a national title.

  5. rbl says:

    I hope we don’t start attacking our own coach on player issues. As a Carolina grad and lifelong fan, I don’t carry a brief for Coach K, but the moronic Duke fans calling for his ouster on the Fire Coach K blog are nauseating and awash in enough stupidity to flood the Western Hemisphere. We’ve got a Hall of Fame coach, who is also a class act, so we need to let him coach the team.

    I’m already looking for to next year and, for a change, to football as well. I think we’re going to be really good, so I hope Carolina fans come out and support the team.

  6. Tar Heel Fan says:

    I draw a dividing line between reasonable fans(like myself) and the message board fringe who did rake Roy over the coals for the Georgetown game. The Duke student paper has already called for K to resign and become AD. His focus has been way too divided and he is ripe for criticism. Firing him is just plain stupid.

  7. Steve says:

    Fire K? Wow. I guess every team has fans who live in an alternate reality.

    Back on point, how can you not like Ginyard? The only way I could justify not liking him is because of his uniform. But that would be irrational.

  8. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Tell me about it. I bet there are some Duke players I could like were they not wearing that uniform! Of course I also believe that Duke generally recruits unlikable kids to play there. 😉

  9. rbl says:

    Regarding Duke players, I can give Greg Paulus a break, since his brother has the wisdom to attend Carolina. More to the point, Ginyard, Green, and Ellington are all fine players and should have good years in ’08. I look forward to seeing Thompson and Stepheson blossom into solid players over their careers. I think we saw the potential in the Arizona game.

Leave a Reply

