Against All Odds

From Thursday’s practice notes at THB:

Fans will hear more about this in the coming weeks, but expect the sound of Phil Collins’s “In the Air Tonight” to become very familiar in Kenan Stadium. Butch Davis-coached teams have used that tune as their song that accompanies pregame stretching at both Miami and Cleveland and he plans to use it at Carolina as well. Since pregame stretching usually occurs around 30 minutes before kickoff, it’s also a nice audible cue to fans outside the stadium to let them know how much time they have left to get inside the gates.

I like a couple of Phil Collins’ songs but let me go on record as saying this might be the first questionable decision of the Butch Davis Era.

9 Responses to Against All Odds

  1. josh bowling says:

    I agree. Although that song has a nice drumbeat to it. Why couldn’t we pick Phil Collins’ “There must be some Misunderstanding” or “Sussudio” or “Easy Lover” or “Throwing it all away” or “Take, Take Me Home”. Whatever happened to powerful ballads like “Burning Hearts” by Survivor? There is just too much good kick-butt rocknroll out there to be using Phil Collins. Think of the hard-rock groups such as Journey, Foreigner, Boston, Reo Speedwagon, Def-Leppard, etc that would provide a good backdrop.

  2. josh bowling says:

    I must have forgot. THF, I liked your pun as the title for this thread. How could I forget Against All Odds. Take a look at me know, I must be getting old to have forgotten that song.

  3. 52BigGameJames says:

    whew–I quite agree THF…(shakes head-no, double shake!)

  4. josh bowling says:

    Well BigGame, what song would you use?

  5. Black Mountain Sophmore says:

    There’s that Beatles song about Dickie Baddour–I think it’s called “The Fool on the Hill…”

  6. 52BigGameJames says:

    lol josh!–sorry but we must part ways on this one–anything but Phil Collins…how about Air Supply…j/k.

    anything with a good beefy guitar hook:

    AC/DC-several

    Tom Petty/Stones/The Who/Stevie Ray Vaughn/VanHalen/Zeppelin

    if we’re going with a theme based on recent history & attempting to set a new tone, maybe Jame’s Brown’s “get up offa that thing”!

  7. josh bowling says:

    Oh no, BigGame, I agree with you on the Collins subject. I was being sarcastic when listing all the other Phil Collins songs. Although I like Phil Collins, all of his music is the same to me. Speaking of James Brown, the bench players could use one of his songs. How about “Try Me”, one of Brown’s very first. I like “Jump” by Van Halen. “Start Me Up” by the Rolling Stones is good. “That’s a cold shot” by Stevie Ray Vaughn is good as well. “Flamethrower” by J-Geils Band is a hot track to kick a game off too. “Word Up”-Cameo-the lists goes on- No no no—“The Beat Goes on” by the Whispers. All of which is great music. I guess I am showing my 32 year old youth by my selections.

  8. 52BigGameJames says:

    and I’m showing my (ahem) 50 years with my C/R selections–as long as Butch delivers, he can play The Bee-Gees as far as I’m concerned.

    btw–just caught Usher’s tribute to JB at the Grammy’s a couple years back on a CNN special this weekend–class act–both of em–on the stage at least!

  9. josh bowling says:

    Usher is too current for me, although he can dance. When I was growing up, groups like the Whispers, the Spinners, Kool & the Gang, Earth Wind & Fire, Ashford & Simpson were the popular groups, wait, I forgot to mention The Manhattans, Midnight Starr, Atlantic Star, El Debarge, Cameo, and solo acts such as Jeffrey Osborne, Freddie Jackson,. Man,I miss that music and think any one of those guys could have a great opening song to this Carolina Football Team. I saw your mention of the BeeGees earlier, now I know that was just for fun, but we could re-write the lyrics to “How Deep is Your Love” to say “How deep can you throw” as the qb’s warm up!!

Leave a Reply

