Dean Smith Retired 10 Years Ago Today

Yes, soak that in for a moment.  It has been ten years since Dean Smith left the game as the all time winningest coach in college basketball. Caulton Tudor of the N&O catches up with Dean to see what he is doing a full decade later.  On one hand it does not seem like it has been that long but then again I think ACC Now hits the nail on the head:

Has it only been 10 years since Dean Smith retired? If you count in Doherty years, it feels like 20. 

That’s for sure.

5 Responses to Dean Smith Retired 10 Years Ago Today

  1. Triadboy says:

    Ten years ago, I was in a remote part of Europe. Eventually, I made it out of the wilderness to Amsterdam. I went into a food store and found a USA Today. In the upper right hand corner was a picture of Dean and the dreaded words “Dean Smith Retires”. I remember letting out a scream. Is that the sign of a Carolina fan? Where were you when Dean retired? 😀

  2. John says:

    When Coach Smith retired I was working at the Circ Desk at Davis Library. I felt particularly bad listening to a freshman lament that he would never get to see Dean Smith coach a game as a UNC student.

    But, since you brought it up, let’s talk about Matt Doherty. I *love* it when members of the “Carolina Family” pile on Coach Doherty. Only the second of his 3 years as coach was intolerable/unforgivable. Let’s review. He was 26-7 and named the AP CotY in year 1; went 8-20 (with Guthridge’s recruits) in year 2, which broke every streak, save the Clemson 0-fer in Pulpit Hill; then had a respectable rebound 19-16 third year (with wins over Kansas, UConn, Dook, and Maryland in the ACC Tourney) but needed 1 more win to make the Big Dance. He may have been an a$$hole to his players (which many people in the “Carolina Family,” like Coach Smith for instance, could have and should have helped the relatively young coach, who was also WAY down the coaching wish list, correct), but he could certainly recruit (2005 NCAA Champions). So, maybe we can give it a rest, huh?

    Lastly–and I know this will get me banned from the blog for life–I have to say that when he was the coach, I used to think Dean Smith was God. Then he retired and I realized that he was merely playing God–with the program.

  3. Tar Heel Fan says:

    That is not so much a complaint about Doherty as it is pointing out how difficult those three years were. I also am less inclined to give Doh all the credit for recruiting the 2005 team. It has been said Phil Ford was instrumental in bringing in Felton and Bobby Knight’s firing from Indiana had more to do with Sean May coming to UNC than anything else. Yes he gets credit to some degree but I am convinced a national title was never in the offing for him.

    And here is a dirty secret. I can’t really ban people. My software is not set up that way. I have some methods of filtering a person out from commenting but I can’t really ban you. Besides the last line was actually kind of funny.

  4. John says:

    Alrighty then, since I can still comment, I might as well. I don’t mean to come off as being anti-Roy or anti-Dean. I definitely think that the program is better off today and for the foreseeable future with Coach Williams on the bench. Who wouldn’t? It’s just that I think Doherty was given lots of rope to hang himself, while seemingly no one tried to help/advise him, and that’s not how the school should treat one of its own. As for 2005, I too have my doubts that Doherty would have won it all. But, he still recruited most of that squad (whether it was him, Phil Ford, or simply the UNC brand that signed them).

    So, are you saying that Sean May would’ve gone to Indiana if “The General” was still there? Wow! And to think Sean May had a problem with Doherty’s coaching style. Bobby Knight’s not exactly known for his touchy-feely bedside manner, so I’m thinking there would been some friction there as well, even if Scott May did play for him back in the ’70s.

  5. Tar Heel Fan says:

    May’s father(Scott) played for Knight on the 1976 title team. The thing about Knight is most of his players can be fiercely loyal to him and this was the case with the Mays. I have also talked to some folks who say that Scott May orchestrated the fall of Matt Doherty by talking to the players on the team and stirring the pot. Obviously that is not something I can ever prove and in the end I think we are all happy with the results but an interesting side bar nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

