UNC 114 Shaw 63

Let me say up front that (1) I am not sure how much you can take from an exhibition game and (2) I draw no conclusions from the fact UNC beat Shaw by 51 while Duke beat the Bears by 79 nor is there anything to be garnered from Duke scoring 134 to UNC’s 114 versus the same team. As was the case with the football game I did not see the game but tracked it on the Live Stats at Tar Heel Blue so most of my analysis is based on parsing the box score. Then again, I am not sure you can take much from it considering it is an exhibition.

  • The two things that bothered me from the box score was the 0-7 from three point range among the regular rotation of players and turnovers. I expected to see better three point shooting but then again Wayne Ellington and Bobby Frasor only took two threes apiece, Ty Lawson, Marcus Ginyard and Danny Green took one each. They other six threes were taken by Will Graves(0-1), Marc Campbell(1-1) and J.B. Tanner(1-4). Something tells me Tanner has never seen an open shot he did not like. Given the scant few threes regulars took it is difficult to get to worked up over the lack of made threes. I think UNC will need offensive balance down the line but when you are playing a team that has no hope of stopping you down low then it makes little sense to chunk it from the cheap seats. On the turnover situation,17 is really too many versus a team you are so much better than. This was Roy’s biggest issue because according to him most of the turnovers were sloppy.
  • Among the impressive lines we have Tyler Hansbrough with 23 points on 7-8 shooting and 9-11 from the line. In other words standard Tyler.
  • The Summer of Deon or Winter of Alex? Thompson picked right up where he left off in Serbia with a 17 point, 10 rebound performance. Not to be outdone Alex Stepheson had 10 points and three rebounds.
  • The guard play was excellent. Ty Lawson had 11 points and six assists but did commit three turnovers. All of Lawson shots were in close at the basket, probably off drives. Wayne Ellington hit a mix of two pointers to go 5-9 including a pair from 17-18 feet. Bobby Frasor had six points and six assists.
  • The Marcus Ginyard-Danny Green combo joined forces to pull down 11 rebounds, block two shots and had two steals.
  • I would comment on the defense but there is nothing I can tell you from how badly Shaw shot the ball(33%) or how many turnovers they had(26) since the Bears were totally outclassed.
  • As for Roy’s take on the game he was unhappy enough that he pulled “Blue-White” twice: “I was not very encouraged by the way that we started the second half, and that’s the reason I took those five out,” Williams said. “Then I put five more in, and I wasn’t very encouraged by the way they played either, so I put five more in. Again, that’s part of it – trying to get better throughout the course of the season.”
  • In the end I think we have a team that is very, very good but still needs to work on various aspects of the game. Besides that Roy is ever the perfectionist so we will see what kind improvements there are on November 9th versus Lenoir-Rhyne,
7 Responses to UNC 114 Shaw 63

  1. Jim says:

    Kudos on the close prediction.

  2. Josh Bowling says:

    I was pleased to see how aggressive Danny Green/Ellington were. I can live with Ellington going 5-9. And he went 5 for 9 because he attacked the basket as opposed to shooting the first 3 he could find. His shots looked great (unlike last year). What else can I say about our post, it has got to be the best in the country. Deon Thompson looked like Antawn Jamison. I mean, physically. He looked light, versatily, and agile in the paint. Stepheson looked like a top 10 recruit. LAST BUT NOT LEAST, how about that defense from William Graves!! He was all over that ball during his time in the game. With that kind of aggressiveness, he could work his way into big minutes in the rotation. He may be that missing link we needed in Rayshawn’s absense.

    Josh

  3. Tar Heel Fan says:

    I did not see the game but if he can play defense, he will earn a spot on the floor from Roy Williams.

  4. DeanForever says:

    On the Duke-UNC point differential, let’s just say that Coach K would be more interested in the point spread (Duke needs glamour points anywhere they can get them). I did not watch the Duke game, but I’m sure there was plenty of floor-slapping, “happy” tears, tears of disgust (when a ref dared to call a foul against a Dookie), and some Krzyzewski swearing.

    On the Tar Heel front, this game was more about working out the kinks. Perfection would be more realistic had Brandan Wright stayed; however, it may be more fun simply watching this group pull together over th coarse of the season. Good win.

  5. Robert says:

    I was awaiting to see Tyler’s performance in the first few games of the year, this game with Shaw bodes well for now. He is obviously the strength of this team, besides, I am looking at his production so as to gauge his future in the NBA. I strongly believe that today’s UNC All-America is very much like Karl Malone of Utah Jazz fame. I think that Tyler will start showing that outside shot much like Malone used to do so.

  6. Carolina Girl says:

    Wayne looked a little shaky in the first half (four turnovers) but played much better in the second. I still worry about him a bit but he’s a great player and I think he’ll get it together. Deon does look fantastic physically. I was surprised that Roy said that starting spot was still up in the air between Deon and Alex. Will Graves is fun to watch but Roy says he still needs to work on defense. If he does, he’ll be awesome this season. He is an absolute beast.

  7. Josh Bowling says:

    Carolina Girl, I thought William Graves’s defense was awesome. He guarded that ball like he was doing suicide drills. Even Shaw’s guards were giving him looks like “hey, are you on steriods or something”. Remined me of a recent player we had named Jackie Manuel, who much like Graves, was always found around the basketball. His energy appears to be something only I could get by means of illegal drugs. Loved his wattage! Could you believe how light Deon was?! He was moving around the floor like he was in some celebrity dance competition. I tell ya, I see a little Jamison in him. He gets it up quick before the defense reacts. Gotta love the feeling everyone’s getting on Manning Drive! Can’t wait for Friday night!!! Lets do it again!

Leave a Reply

