UNC Snags 2010 Recruit

Roy is just ridiculous right now.   UNC gets a commitment from a five star prospect out of Kinston, NC named Reggie Bullock who accepted the scholarship offer from the Heels less than a week after they extended it.  Bullock, currently a sophomore, goes 6-5, 185 lbs and can play either the two or three. UNC already had a commit in the class of 2010 from 6-3 PG Kendall Marshall out of Arlington, VA.

And if you don’t believe me when I say Roy is ridiculous, check out this blurb from the College Hoop Blog at Fox Sports.

Here’s some recent evidence: The Tar Heels went into the Lone Star state last week and got a commitment from one of the top juniors in the country – John Henson.

A day later, they got a pledge from the Wear Twins – a pair of skilled forwards out of the Los Angeles area.

That means North Carolina beat Texas in its home-state and then followed it up by beating a UCLA team that has been to consecutive Final Fours in their own backyard.

“When they show up, you might as well pack it up and go home,” said one high-major head coach. “You can’t beat them anywhere right now.”

26 Responses to UNC Snags 2010 Recruit

  1. Mike White says:

    Isn’t signing a sophomore a little early? Because if there’s anything more steadfast than the decisions of a teenager, I’d like to know what it is.

  2. Wayne says:

    6′ 5″ kid out of Kinston? Sounds a lot like Stackhouse . . .

  3. Wayne says:

    Mike — commitment is not the same as signing . . .

  4. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Seems to be trending that way now. Thad Matta has been doing at OSU. Considering Roy’s reputation as a recruiter I am inclined to trust that he knows what he is doing.

    The only downside I perceive is you are jumping the gun a bit on players who are not done growing physically. These guys might be playing one position now and be 3-4 inches taller in two years and be forced into a different position that might not suit them as well.

  5. 52BigGameJames says:

    cool–they make good un’s in Kinston! nice to have a few “in-Stater’s” too!

  6. C. Michael says:

    I was just thinking the same thing, even though I’m nothing close to an in-stater! Look at the breakdown of UNC’s roster+plus commits:

    Seniors: CA
    Juniors: MO, IL, NY, VA
    Soph: MD, PA, CA (2)
    Frosh: NC
    2008: VA, IN, CA
    2009: TX, CA (2)
    2010: VA, NC

    Breakdown CA (6), VA (3), NC (2), MD, MO, IL, IN, NY, PA, TX

    Not a lot of programs that can recruit that diversely.

  7. 52BigGameJames says:

    I know if I was a prospective UNC dad, I would trust Roy to have my kids best interests at heart–I think some coaches lose sight of the development process-I don’t doubt that Q will make a significant contribution somewhere down the line this year, but there are many benches he would wither on.

  8. 52BigGameJames says:

    that would explain the Stepheson “transfer” rumor, lol!

  9. william says:

    Michael Jordan was rated below Buzz Peterson….

  10. 52BigGameJames says:

    or Joe Smith/Antwan Jameson—-not lost on me Bro-I’ve maintained on here before that recruiting can be over-rated, but still, given the choice of two extremes…

  11. Josh Bowling says:

    I know William, ain’t that some ****!

  12. 52BigGameJames says:

    and we thought Roy was really out there for the baseball games…

  13. Josh Bowling says:

    The only thing I question so far about recruiting is this THF, the guys we are lining up gp wise aren’t no felton or lawson. The pf ‘s we are picking up aren’t no Reyshawn or Hansbrough. The thing is this, I like what I see out of KM as a pg. I do like what I see from Ed Davis as being an active pf. I am worried about Larry Drew and some others. From the pf standpoint, they say that they aren’t good defenders and are kind of soft. They also say they aren’t good rebounders. But they do say that they can shoot facing the basket. Are we going to try to become a half court team when the newcombers are starting for us in 09-10? We lose that interior intensity with the new kids, and we also lose that lightning speed at pg. We will most likely become a headsy, cerebral-type of half court team, similar to what Duke was a few years ago. IMO

  14. Dan Schwind says:

    I sincerely doubt we’ll see UNC go back to being a half-court team. Roy’s M.O. has always been run fast, score fast. I think this recruiting is a response to what we’re seeing with this year’s team and last year. In both cases, the team preferred to play the fast break, but both teams have/had run into trouble whenever a team found a way to slow them down and force them to work in a half-court set.

    I think what we’re seeing now is Roy ensuring that he has players who can move at break-neck speed (Drew, Marshall and Ed Davis), but also guys who can operate out of a half-court set so that if and when we do come across a team that can slow us down, we can throw a different set of players out there and still have a lineup that’s ideally suited for the situation.

  15. Josh Bowling says:

    Dan, the souting report on Larry Drew is that he does lack speed & quickness to run an up-tempo team. I am wondering if that is why Kendall Marshall has gotten on board. Maybe Drew for slow down tempo and Marshall for our current style ball.

  16. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Not to mention Dexter Strickland who is the #1 PG in the class of 2009 and is leaning towards UNC. Roy says he likes to have 2-3 quality PGs on the roster so he can run up and down.

  17. william says:

    Roy always ran at Kansas; he always won; and while he had some excellent players, he never had a Vince Carter, Antwan Jamison or Jerry Stackhouse. I expect to see him in the top ten most years regardless. If he could do it two years ago after losing his top 7 players….

  18. william says:

    Article on Gerald Henderson and K regarding Roy’s failure to remove his starters:

    http://www.carolinawatercooler.com/VitaleOnHuggins.html

  19. Dan Schwind says:

    Josh, the criticism on Drew is specific to up-tempo teams. It’s not that he’s not fast (he’s actually quite fast) it’s just that he doesn’t have the stamina to keep up the speed for 40 minutes, hence them saying he can’t do it for an up-tempo team. He’s still got plenty of speed, but that’s why they’re bringing in Kendall Marshall. Regardless, Roy likes to run and I can’t imagine we’ll ever become a half-court team.

  20. 52BigGameJames says:

    ok-I’ll take the bait–Hinder-son is a great player, but I hope one of our guys takes him down a notch-he’s still an arrogant bast**d… as they say in UFC: “let’s get it on”!

    feel better william?

  21. 52BigGameJames says:

    did I say down? I meant to say out!

  22. william says:

    I watched that game again a couple of weeks ago, I have done things in my life that I shouldn’t have but to me, at the least, it was recklessly malevolent, racing in with arms flailing and eyes closed. The guy is losing his hair though so maybe we should cut him some slack, plus his buddy Ellington is just so much better.

  23. 52BigGameJames says:

    LOL! I’ll just say Henderson is damn lucky Larry Brown or George Karl aren’t Tyler’s team-mates.

  24. Josh Bowling says:

    That’s right BigGame. Also William, I think the next time I have a propensity to attack someone on an angry rage,I will do so with my eyes closed, that way everyone can defend me and say “how could he do that purposefully since he didn’t see him”. I can’t buy Duke’s argument for him to save my life.

  25. Josh Bowling says:

    Dan, I sure hope that is the case. I wonder why we are so dang loaded with power forwards wanting to come to UNC. Ed Davis, Tywick Zellar, Travis Wear, David Wear, John Henson. I would love to see some athletic small forwards to visit us. We could use a Carter, Stackhouse, Jordan, Brian Reese, Rashad McCants type to crash the glass. But nevertheless, I am thrilled at what we are getting, and that should be enough to continue to propel this university into the uttermost height of the NCAA atmosphere. Good Job Roy! You kids will not be dissapointed! Best school an athlete could play for.

  26. william says:

    That was Billy Packer, wasn’t it. It is strange that Packer loves Duke so much given that they refused to recruit him, even though they were his first choice. He chose Wake just to get revenge, but now he is apparently on poor terms with his alma mater and likes Duke again.

Leave a Reply

