Thank You Guys

qt1.jpgsw1.jpg

Photo Credit: Zeke Smith

10 Responses to Thank You Guys

  1. Andy says:

    I was thinking about Q’s career last night. I am finishing grad school this spring and have been lucky enough to see some great games, including last nights: the last home game of this season, Q’s career, and, well, my career. Who started yelling “Q” whenever Thomas stepped on the floor, made a good hustle play or *gasp* made a basket? Whoever it was should be commended for brining out the true spirit of Carolina basketball. There are a lot of UNC fans that like a team that wins, but the true Carolina fans love the team, the coaches, the history, and especially the players. That’s why the real fans loved to see Q fight back from adversity, injury, and line-up shuffles to make himself a solid player. When he made a great assist to Tyler down low, our hearts leapt because we’ve seen his game improve and his desire to stick with it. There’s no better way for this season to have gone: he silenced the doubters but will finish it the way he’s always been best. He’s a glue guy; an experienced National Champion guiding the squad from a supporting role. I miss him already!

  2. Josh Bowling says:

    We can all say I couldn’t be done without him. He is already missed. What great character this kid has. I certainly hope he finds happiness & success in whatever his endeavors may be going forward. Right now QT, help us win this national title.

  3. william says:

    Just got the new edition of Sports Illustrated in the mail and Psycho T has the whole cover. Not bad! Oops, is that a jinx! Is Time Warner pro-Duke? They are based in New York City.

  4. Tar Heel alum and fan says:

    So far I think the two biggest stories of this season for UNC are the outstanding play of Hansbrough and the solid contributions of Q, which in no small measure allows UNC to play for the conference title on Saturday.

    ESPN’s Jim Rhome had an interesting radio interview with Roy Williams today (I was late to a business meeting to listen to it – some things are more important than others). Great anecdotes about how Roy picks up plays from watching high school games.

    I hope Roy gets some kind of recignition for the great job he’s done with this team this year. National coach of the Year?

  5. Tar Heel Fan says:

    He won’t because they are meeting the preseason expectations. Never mind those expectations would have been far lower had they known about the injuries. I am weary of some people saying K is the automatic ACC COY. If Duke loses on Sat, Duke will finish 2nd which is exactly where people thought they would finish. They need to reward guys like Seth Greenburg or Frank Haith who were picked 10th and 12th in the ACC but now it looks like Miami and VT will be 4th and 5th.

  6. rbl says:

    We didn’t get the game on TV here in Ohio, so I had the pleasure of listening to the Carolina crew on XM Radio, which I would have done anyway by turning down the TV sound.

    I love the passion as a play is developing – as Psycho T prepared to slam it home, Woody exclaimed excitedly, “Watch this.” Montross, I believe, said they ran a picture of Surry Wood on the giant screen with the caption – Four points, career high. I doubt that would have been on TV.

    It was delicious listening to the farewell speeches on radio. As all Carolina fans, I appreciate and respect Q, and am delighted he has had such an outstanding finish to his senior season, although there’s still work to be done.

    Way back in the Ice Ages of the 1950s I used to listen to the games on radio. Ray Reeve was one fantastic announcer, as was Bill Currie, who died recently. Woody and his team has kept the tradition going.

  7. william says:

    Billy Packer said that Senior Day did not seem to be as big a deal back in the days when you had to win the tournament to get a bid, because all the focus was on the tournament. Of course, he played for really good teams in contention.

    Still, I sort of agree with him in that it seems to me that Senior Day is a bigger deal now it was when I was at UNC.

    For instance, I, along with many others, did not attend the famous Duke-UNC Senior Day game in 1984 because it fell on the Saturday after spring break had begun. I don’t know how they schedule spring break these days, but it used to always be this week.

  8. Silent Sam says:

    I attended as many UNC games as possible when I was in Chapel Hill (Fall ’63 – Spring ’67). Although this doesn’t mean “Senior Day” wasn’t a big deal, I have no recollection at of any Senior Day, football or basketball.

    I have a friend who was a basketball letterman and graduated with the class of ’66. I’ll check with him to see if he remembers a Senior Day in Carmichael (or Woollen, for that matter).

  9. mugley says:

    “Q” has really moved up on my favorite Heels list, all he’s been thru, and still has sucha great team first attitude, and when they really needed him, he came thru like gang busters

  10. rbl says:

    I graduated in 1996 and don’t recall a Senior Day as such, although a big deal was amde out of the Carolina-Duke game in 1965, as it was the last game in venerable Woollen Gym. The last home game in 1966 was against UVA, but I don’t recall any special festivities. I was in graduate school in 1967 and 1968, and do recall that Larry Miller was given an ovation at his last home game in 1968, but I don’t think any other seniors started for the occasion.

    Who did you know on the ’66 team, Silent Sam?

Leave a Reply

