NCAA Tournament: 1st Round Friday

Well at least my bracket is still mostly intact despite the four missed picks(BYU, Kent, USC and Baylor in case you were wondering.)

Today the Heels take the court in their quest for a fifth NCAA title. Clemson and Miami also see action in their respective regions. Here is hoping we get better games than we did yesterday where Duke-Belmont was the only game with real drama. A quick glance of the schedule seems to indicate this will be the case. Obviously UNC fans will be watching to see what happens in the East with #2 Tennessee vs #15 American. #3 Louisville vs #14 Boise State will be one of the late games tonight as will #8 Indiana vs #9 Arkansas.

Around the rest of the country I think #7 Gonzaga vs #10 Davidson, #5 Drake vs #12 Western Kentucky and #7 Butler vs #10 South Alabama stand to be good games. Why? Because all six teams are mid-major schools and it will be interesting to see how Butler, Gonzaga and Drake do being the favored teams. #7 Miami will play #10 St. Mary’s around the same time Davidson is playing over at the RBC Center which makes me wonder which game WRAL will carry on their main feed.

For the record I have four true upsets picked today: St. Mary’s, Davidson, St. Joseph’s and Siena. If these do not pan out and upsets happen elsewhere I will be in a world of hurt.

Open thread for your commenting pleasure, have at it and enjoy the games!

Update: In case you were wondering what the CBS coverage will be for the games today, the maps can be found here. To answer my own question above, the Raleigh area will see the RBC Center games all day with the exception of the Clemson game tonight.

54 Responses to NCAA Tournament: 1st Round Friday

  1. Josh Bowling says:

    Does anyone think that Duke looks like the weakest number 2 seed and UCLA looks like the overall number one seed? Like you THF, I am surprises BYU didn’t come out with a win. Anyone else think that if Memphis/Pitt advance to meet each other that Pitt could pull out a win? I have UT,KS,UCLA,Memphis in my final 4. But that may have to be revised to be UT/KS/UCLA/PITT

  2. C. Michael says:

    I’d go so far as to say I would be surprised if the winner of the MSU/Pitt game did NOT beat Memphis.

  3. Josh Bowling says:

    I hear you C. Michael. I just haven’t seen Memphis in action this year against many reputable opponents. It’s hard to gauge how good/fair they are. I, like you, would be prepared to see them lose to either of those two matchups.

  4. Debbie says:

    Your blog is Tar Heel Fan yet you pick St. Mary’s in a first round upset. You are soooo not a fan!! I have worries that UNC won’t make it all the way but I have enough faith/love in the heels to play well today.

  5. Tar Heel Fan says:

    And if St. Mary’s were playing UNC and I picked against the Heels you would be correct in telling me I was not a very good fan but it so happens St. Mary’s is playing Miami and UNC is taking on Mount St. Mary’s which I said would be a 41 point UNC win two posts down.

  6. C. Michael says:

    LOL… reading comprehension much???

    Glad to see Tennessee is playing like the #1 team Pearl whined they should be… what a fraudulent program. I hope they win a couple, just so I get to watch UNC eviscerate them…

  7. Debbie says:

    My bad. At the risk of dating myself – as Emily Latella of SNL would say, “Never Mind”.

  8. 52BigGameJames says:

    I’m guessing Debbie’s a blonde? j/k Drake down 11 @ the half is a surprise. Quality game between Davidson & Gonzaga–no surprise there.

  9. 52BigGameJames says:

    Josh/C.-I had some doubts about Pitt’s depth, but having won the BE with 4 straight games quelled that some. Anybody watched UConn much? I caught a glimpse a couple of weeks back and they looked scary–at a glance anyway.

  10. Tar Heel Fan says:

    That’s okay Debbie…I was just a little amused at the comment.

  11. C. Michael says:

    UConn reminds me of the of UNC Roy’s first year, in that that are capable of looking very, very, good and can beat anyone. The only problem is, they are more likely to get beat by anyone.

  12. 52BigGameJames says:

    man, I LOVE that latest Nike spot:”for whom the bell tolls”, with Mike nailing the J!

  13. 52BigGameJames says:

    thanks Michael–that’s kind of what I figured, but I’ve seen some picks that have them going deep.

  14. Josh Bowling says:

    Tennessee has separated themselves. I wish America could have advanced. Something about their name seems more encompassing than Tennessee. Gonzaga/Davidson has been a joy to watch! Stephon Curry kinda reminds me of myself on the court. 🙂 I am sure Dell is very proud of his play. Glad to see Miami has turned it on. Let’s go ACC! Duke didn’t help our cause out too much last night. They will bounce back and have a better game tomorrow.

  15. william says:

    Bruce Pearl and his thug team scare no one. Davidson pulls it off!

  16. william says:

    This will help Roy pass Mark Few as coach with the best winning percentage.

  17. william says:

    Root for Western Kentucky, guys. Their chief assistant coach is Scott (what is Dean Smith doing?) Cherry.

  18. Josh Bowling says:

    Exactly William!

  19. Tar Heel Fan says:

    [UNNAMED ANALYST’S] head nearly exploded when Dean put Cherry in the 1993 title game.

  20. william says:

    The ref’s are going to pull Drake’s fat out of the fire in this one.

  21. 52BigGameJames says:

    I like drake, but WK got screwed by the ref on that charge call–did you see the jersey grab right before that? certainly the ref didn’t.

  22. TxTarheel says:

    what a crap call…at a critical point no less

  23. Tar Heel Fan says:

    That call was bad. The defender was still moving and if they were thinking about the elbow I have seen far worse not called such as Demarcus Nelson against Ben McCauley.

  24. 52BigGameJames says:

    trivia: who was the Carolina Cougars 1st “big-man” anchor, and what college was he from?

  25. Adam in Chicago says:

    Go Davidson!!! I think the Wildcats were the best pick for an upset this tournament, and they didn’t disappoint.

    WARNING TO ALL TOURNAMENT TEAMS: Use extreme caution when playing teams from North Carolina. Lower seeded teams from the Tar Heel State may cause nausea, headache, irritability, dizziness, depression, and long bus/plane trips home.

  26. william says:

    I heard that Stephen Curry wants to transfer to UNC….

  27. william says:

    Tom Owens, USC.

  28. william says:

    O.K., my other alma mater, Georgetown is getting ready to come on for a local battle with Baltimore County.

  29. 52BigGameJames says:

    sorry: should’ve said “legit”

  30. Adam in Chicago says:

    Yeah, horrible call against WKY, but it was stupid to toss that elbow out there. He had the angle on the defender, just needed to spin away from the baseline and he’d have been home free.

  31. william says:

    Tom Owens was awesome. Did they have Jim Chones?

  32. william says:

    Drake has the refs in the bag.

  33. 52BigGameJames says:

    in college maybe…

    Jim “Big-Mac” McDaniels–from Western Kentucky.

    http://www.hilltopperhaven.com/interviews/mcdaniels.html

  34. TxTarheel says:

    plenty time to get a decent look for Hilltoppers

  35. william says:

    Jon Cox.

  36. william says:

    Drake bites.

  37. william says:

    This is their best win of the year, except for Butler.

  38. william says:

    Down goes Drake!

  39. 52BigGameJames says:

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!

  40. Adam in Chicago says:

    OH MY GOD!!!!!!!!!!! BEST 3 EVER

  41. william says:

    Richly deserved!

  42. 52BigGameJames says:

    Larry Bird-like confidence on the shot–wow!

  43. william says:

    Maybe Drake will try to improve their schedule next year.

  44. TxTarheel says:

    incredible…wish I’d seen more of that game. Finally some early-round afternoon excitement though

  45. william says:

    Scott Cherry left GMU for this year’s GMU!

  46. Tar Heel Fan says:

    What a shot…I just told the guys I was watching it with there had not been a buzzer beater yet.

  47. Josh Bowling says:

    Best 3 point shot since Brice Drew for Valparaiso

  48. william says:

    but still no U.S. Reed….

  49. Tar Heel Fan says:

    ACC is 2-0 so far. Hopefully UNC and Clemson can make it 4-0 in the first round.

  50. william says:

    Did you guys know that Austin Peay used to have a big-time program. They had a guy named Fly Williams and the crowd would chant, “Fly is open! Let’s go Peay!

  51. TxTarheel says:

    it looks like Tampa-St Pete is the hot-spot for buzzer beaters…San Diego just took out UCONN. So UCLA is looking at a #9 seed tomorrow, then either a 12/13 to reach elite 8. Nice seeding…

  52. Schwartzy says:

    No Kidding,
    Hopefully, A&M brings the team that beat Texas by 17. The sooner UCLA is gone the better.
    I think I’d rather have Duke in the Final Four than UCLA (even though it would only increase K’s pretentiousness past the point of nausea), but they way they played Belmont I don’t think they’ll get past WV. K has the flu, which means he can’t bully the refs into a win.

    Apparently, Ellington loves playing against zone D. That’s good news if we face Louisville in the regional finals.

  53. 52BigGameJames says:

    I do NOT like Seth Davis!

  54. TxTarheel says:

    I do not like him on a train
    I would not like him on the plane
    I would not like him here or there
    I would not take Seth anywhere

    (feel free to submit ‘Seth’ with another analyst whom you find perturbing)

Leave a Reply

