NCAA Tournament: National Championship

I think I am more interested in watching a title game after UNC is in the Final Four versus last year when they never made it to the final weekend.  Then again it sucks big time the Heels are not playing tonight and I really hope Kansas plays at the same level tonight win or lose just so I do not feel like we got bounced by a fluke performance.

In terms of who to pull for here, there are certain points of view on picking which team you want to win.  Staying neutral is an option but that is not much fun.  Kansas offers an interesting choice for UNC fans since you have to ask yourself whether you want to back the team that ousted you or consider the Dean Smith-Larry Brown-Roy Williams connections to Kansas and adopt them as our midwestern basketball cousin?  The latter seems fine but the other factor for me is I simply cannot give any love to Memphis and John Calipari.  I just do not care for Calipari and when he interviewed for the NC State job he was more concerned about whether the academic standards could be lowered than anything else.  This is not to say his players are not good kids but Calipari has always struck me as a bit shady so Kansas it is, if for no other reason than to rest in the knowledge that at least the Heels got dropped by the national champion and it was destiny.

Open thread for your comments, if there is anyone left out there. 😉

76 Responses to NCAA Tournament: National Championship

  1. C. Michael says:

    I always pulled for KU when Roy was there; considered them UNC-west, so no reason to stop now. Plus, I always pull for the blue-bloods over a school like Memphis. (Even pulled for Duke over UNLV).

  2. TxTarheel says:

    hear hear, not quite the start as KU had Sat night

  3. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Who else is enjoying Nantz and Packer constantly reliving the UNC-Kansas game? They have said very little about the Memphis-UCLA game but cannot stop torturing us about what Kansas did to UNC.

  4. TxTarheel says:

    as if we needed one, another reason to dislike / hate on Packer

  5. Santiago says:

    I pulled for KU until Roy left, but their fans make it hard to pull for them now. Can’t really pull for any Calipari team either though. Any chance they can both lose? The correct thing to write here is that I couldn’t care less (as opposed to saying I could care less).

    Actually, being a fan of the drama, here’s my dream scenario. Memphis wins in a squeaker. Bill Self leaves KU for the wheelbarrow of cash OSU offers him. KU fans have a new nemesis coach. Calipari gets busted for NCAA violations and/or Memphis becomes mired in a cheating scandal.

    I can dream, but maybe I’m just bitter that I had UCLA vs. UNC in my championship bracket.

  6. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Okay this is the Kansas team I remember seeing on Saturday night.

  7. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Roy is at the game and wearing a Jayhawks sticker on his shirt. Some folks at IC were saying Roy was being disloyal and he should have returned to Chapel Hill to be with his team.

  8. C. Michael says:

    I have no problem with that. That is what makes Roy, Roy. He seems to truly love the people who have helped him along the way.

  9. TxTarheel says:

    doesn’t bother me that much…it’s not like he is there supporting coach K and wearing a Dook sticker. Maybe he’s going to scout some players tomorrow

    Who ever has the best lungs/legs stands a good chance in the 2nd half. KU might run a little deeper with the quality of big men

  10. Santiago says:

    If Ellington, Lawson, and Hansbrough all go pro and all say the fact that Roy stayed in SA and wore a Jayhawk sticker effected their decision, then I’ll hold it against him. ‘Til then, I’d just advise the IC folks to remember that the man did coach at the school for a decade and a half. Lighten up, Francis.

  11. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Actually, according to ACC Now he stayed because his son flew in from London for the Final Four and since he could not fly back until later in the week he remained to spend time with him, probably socialize with other coaches and attend the game to root for a team he coached for 15 years. I have no issue with it nor do I think it is some sign that he is not totally focused on UNC. I also think it is nice he gets a few days to relax since I know he works extremely hard during the season and on the recruiting trail. With the recruiting having gone so well, it has earned him some time off.

    The message board crowd is idiotic with some of them saying Roy can go back to Kansas for all they care. What a bunch of morons.

  12. Tar Heel Fan says:

    His staying in SA is not going to affect their decision. I think too many people expect Roy just to make a clean break from Kansas in every possible way but I think that would be asking him to cut off a foot.

  13. Wilson says:

    It’s Roy, ladies and gentlemen. You’d think 5 years with the guy would be enough for some “fans” to realize the kind of person he is. I hope the KU fans can finally get off his back. Although it’s gonna be a bunch of “losing Roy was the best thing that ever happened to us” kind of talk if they win this one.

  14. Santiago says:

    THF, my tongue was in my cheek when I wrote that the trio might go pro early due to Roy staying.

    My wife doesn’t really get understand my sense of humor either.

  15. TxTarheel says:

    Roy looks a little more up-to-date without a ghastly tie…maybe he should sport the “George Karl” look a little more often.

    ESPN has some interesting reads from Katz and Wojchowski on UNC/Saturday games

  16. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Wow…Ben Hansbrough is transferring from Mississippi State.

  17. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Seriously, I do not think Nantz or Packer have said one word about the UCLA-Memphis game but they keep talking about the Kansas-UNC game even saying stuff like “Well there were no lead changes in the UNC-Kansas game.”

  18. Wilson says:

    Emphasis on Packer. He loves sticking it to UNC fans any way he can.

  19. TxTarheel says:

    Packer reminds me of Johnny Miller on NBC…always speaks his mind, whether or not his brain tries to shut him off or not. 11 more minutes and Packer can break out the golf clubs or fishing rod or whatever the heck he does

  20. Santiago says:

    So, are you saying Johnny Miller likes Lefty as much as Billy Packer likes UNC? That is to say, not very much.

    Nice segue to golf, btw. I’m sure CBS will (really) push the Masters promo as the post-game gets going.

  21. Chris Tutino says:

    I just got done visiting with my State fan neighbor and when he told me Roy was wearing a Jayhawk logo, I just about lost it. Even now, reading the posts here, I’m still p***ed off. I mean, I’m sitting here still not believing I’m not watching us play tonight.

    I would absolutely NOT be wearing that if I was Roy. Maybe it’s my PR background, but it’s just not a good move. The fact that he’s there watching the game is enough for EVERYONE to know that he’s there pulling for Kansas. Why throw it in our faces?

  22. Wilson says:

    Yea, I think I’d be cool with it if we had played Memphis, but it is like a tragedy, sometimes it’s just a little bit too early to do something like that. Can’t think that the UNC players enjoy seeing that too much after Saturday’s game.

  23. TxTarheel says:

    well, Miller likes Miller so that’s a good start for analyzing Packer.

  24. Big Apple Heel says:

    With due respect to those that differ, Roy is showing a great deal of class by showing up to support Kansas. I’d say its pretty solid sportsmanship, and authentic Roy. That’s the best PR I can imagine for Carolina and the program, imo.

  25. Santiago says:

    Well put, Tx.

    Come on y’all. It was his first coaching gig and he did it for 15 years. If Carolina’s out, he pulls for KU, regardless of who knocked us out. If you’re gonna be mad at the man, at least talk about not calling a TO or something that’s relevant to Saturday’s game. I’ll say it again. Lighten up, Francis.

  26. TxTarheel says:

    Derek Rose is lighting it up these last 10 minutes. KU has gone cold and not getting good looks

  27. Big Apple Heel says:

    I’m sure Rose called that one.

  28. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Okay wants to guess what cheesy line Nantz will use at the end of the game:

    Memphis win: Everything is roses for the Tigers, Memphis wins the national title

    Kansas win: The Jayhawks are Self-sufficient, Kansas wins the national championship.

  29. Tar Heel Fan says:

    I think we may be about to find out if Memphis’ FT shooting will be an issue

  30. Wilson says:

    Two times Dozier has had a big O rebound.

  31. Wilson says:

    I think so THF.

  32. Big Apple Heel says:

    “Memphis Rose to the occasion” seems sufficiently bland.

    ‘We hold these truths to be Self-evident”….hmmm, no.

    Too late for clever over here.

  33. Wilson says:

    “The Self-led selfless Jayhawks”

    Although that’s a big confusing.

  34. Chris Tutino says:

    We can go the T.O. route if you want to. I don’t care how many commercial timeouts there are in a game, there weren’t enough last night to give our guys some time to settle down and settle into the situation at hand. It’s not like it was tied at 10 at any point in the first half. 10. If your team isn’t in it at 10, you HAVE to do something to TRY to stop the bleeding. I mean, 28 points? Seriously, we were down 28 points…in the first half…in the Final Four. You’ve got the National POY and you’re down 28 points. How do you let it get to that point without trying to do something to change momentum or give your team a chance to regroup?

  35. Wilson says:

    Listen to that Masters segue that Packer tried to feed Nantz.

  36. Big Apple Heel says:

    It’s over, dude. Move on. Roy’s in the HoF for a reason.

    Not a good foul for Dorsey.

  37. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Chris,

    I thought he should have gone Blue Team on the starters and eaten them alive on the bench.

  38. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Wow…great comeback by Kansas here. I wonder if Calipari thinks the FT shooting is a big deal now?

  39. Tar Heel Fan says:

    So why is not calling an obvious technical foul a great call again?

  40. Big Apple Heel says:

    Ha, I’m guessing he does. And CDR is one of their better FT shooters.

  41. Wilson says:

    Follow through dummy!

  42. Wilson says:

    HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOmygod.

  43. Tar Heel Fan says:

    WOW…What a shot! So how does that go again Calipari? FTs are not important? Memphis does not have Dorsey and Kansas might have found their perimeter shot so I think this is advantage: Kansas.

  44. Santiago says:

    I sense KU nation is about to let Roy off the hook.

    Packer is apparently going to offer a FT shooting seminar this summer. Space is limited. Enroll your kid now.

    Chris, I don’t really want to go back to Saturday’s game. I just want put Roy sitting in the Kansas block and wearing a Jayhawk sticker into perspective. THF’s right though. As flat as the starters were playing. No TO would have been as instructive as benching the lot of ’em.

  45. Tar Heel Fan says:

    I’m sorry but it makes me laugh for Packer to say, “Kansas knows what it is like to play in OT in a championship game, they did it in 1957.”

    Like 1957 has any impact on these players.

    Kansas is in control now.

  46. Wilson says:

    Packer thinks 1957 is still relevant because he was a grandfather then.

  47. Tar Heel Fan says:

    You know…Roy has not been seen on camera since the halftime interview. Makes me wonder if he has ducked out of sight now.

  48. Wilson says:

    Eh, the game’s been so good that there hasn’t been any need. Who knows.

  49. Chris Tutino says:

    Big Apple, I don’t understand why we can’t revisit the game last night and discuss how we feel. If you don’t like what I’m saying here, you don’t have to respond but don’t try to shut me down. I bleed Tar Heel Blue just like you, so WTF gives?

    THF, putting the blue team in is the best suggestion I’ve heard. I read that earlier today and it makes the most sense. I know that hindsight is 20/20 but I think anything would have helped. Even if they only score 4 points in 2 minutes, it would have given our guys some confidence. If we had gotten beat up more with the Blue Team in, our guys might have responded better in defense.

    Anyway, I’m sorry to stir up these emotions again. I’m actually just now in the denial phase. Even at tip I was looking at the screen and going, “we’re playing tonight, right?” I work with a bunch of State and Duke fans and all the Carolina fans are girls so I haven’t had a ton of time to work through my issues with losing just yet.

  50. Santiago says:

    This year’s Memphis vs. Kansas feels a lot like last year’s UNC vs. Georgetown. Yet another way Packer can mention a UNC NCAAT collapse.

    THF, why would Roy “duck out of sight?”

  51. TxTarheel says:

    early tee time

  52. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Santiago,

    Maybe someone called him on his cell and told him the Jayhawk thing was not playing well so he is watching the game from an unknown location. I would think CBS would keep milking that angle.

  53. Santiago says:

    Tx, more golf segues, huh?

    “A tradition unlike any other…”

  54. Wilson says:

    I think a lot of credit needs to be given to the refs this game. They have done a great job of letting the players play, but not letting it get out of hand. Exactly how a game should be ref’ed.

  55. Noel says:

    Actually, TFH, maybe it was just on the web feed, but the camera trailed over to Roy about 5 minutes ago. He’s still rock chalk… eh…

  56. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Coaches everywhere would like to thank John Calipari for his team providing footage to demonstrate the importance of FTs.

  57. Chris Tutino says:

    And they’d milk it because it was not a good PR move for Roy to wear that.

  58. Big Apple Heel says:

    No offense intended, it just seems to me that what’s done is done and I for one don’t plan on losing any sleep over it. I have a feeling we might win another championship in the not too distant future, so I’m pretty at peace with it. In any case, plenty of other things to actually worry about in the world.

  59. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Ah…thanks for the update Noel. Maybe I was not looking but I had not seen him.

  60. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Well crap, why didn’t Danny Green’s three do that? Same basket

  61. Wilson says:

    We were all wrong.

    “Rock, Chalk, Championship”

  62. Jim U. says:

    Anyone have DVR on the three pointer by Chalmers to send it into overtime? Just wondering… it looked like his foot was close to being on the line.

  63. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Actually not that cheesy

  64. Big Apple Heel says:

    Kansas earned that one.

  65. Chris Tutino says:

    He’s was behind the 3.

  66. TxTarheel says:

    ya know…on second look his foot was awful close on that 3. But the refs did not acquit themselves very well in this game (or tournament for that matter).

    Jayhawks win……

  67. Noel says:

    Jim, I thought so too, but I backed up the web feed a little bit and watched it twice (even in its pixelated state). There was definitely space between his foot and the line.

  68. Jim U. says:

    Thanks for checking.

    Great championship game (despite the lack of light blue).

  69. Santiago says:

    Chris,
    It’s funny to think that you caught any grief from State or Duke fans about Carolina losing a FF game this year. What exactly did those 2 teams accomplish this year again?

    As for being able to talk to anybody about the loss, that’s what the ‘blog’s for.

    The only good thing about UNC losing early is that Jones Angel and Adam Lucas can start on baseball radio broadcasts.

  70. TxTarheel says:

    Not to opine on other head coaches, but Bill Self has to feel pretty dang good. He built a winner at Tulsa (Carolina beat them in 2000 for a Final Four trip), took over at Illinois and had them consistently on the edges of a Final Four trip; and then took over Kansas after Roy left.

    I think he’d be foolish to leave…there aren’t too many “better jobs” than Kansas in college hoops

  71. Santiago says:

    THF,
    The question is moot, but I can’t imagine Roy would “hide” based on a phone call–unless the call was from Dean or Wanda. That’s just how he rolls.

    Chris,
    Why is it a bad PR move for Roy to wear the Jayhawk sticker? I think it shows outsiders that representatives of Carolina have good sportsmanship. As for Carolina fans, he may not be Dean, but I’m thinking Roy’s pretty much bulletproof.

    Tx,
    Every man has his price.

  72. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Was Calipari serious about wanting to get the replay removed? He sort of smiled when he said it.

  73. TxTarheel says:

    Hey if it’s not Bill Self to OSU I bet Calipari would entertain those $$$. Lets face it, Memphis does not play in the Big 12 either.

    Onward to golf season….the Masters & Caddyshack and Tiger chasing the Slam. At least Packer doesn’t call golf

  74. Chris Tutino says:

    Santiago,

    It’s probably just my state of mind right now. Kansas beat us, Roy loves Kansas and gushes over Kansas incessantly in the media, and I just don’t see why he needed to wear it or wanted to wear it. You think any of the players want to see Roy wearing an opposing team’s logo at any time? I guess it’s a loyalty thing with me.

  75. Josh Bowling says:

    I agree with you Chris T. You are certainly welcome here and can we should all discuss what we might have/could have done differently. We may see this same situation again. I do not like to see Roy so publicly loving his former team. However, I am very glad to have him, and he is the man for the job here at UNC. As long as he is at the helm, I expect UNC to finish 1-3 in the ACC year in and year out. I also expect he will lead us to the sweet 16’s, elite eights, and final fours every year as well. He also will continue to get top prospects in here on every scholarship that is available. Good job Roy, and UNC!

Leave a Reply

