THF Confession

I am not sure if I have ever mentioned it but Tar Heel Wife does not watch basketball nor does she know much about what happens during the season unless I am rambling about it when she is in the same room.  Despite this disinterest in basketball, every year I print a bracket out and sit down with her so she can make picks.  The impeccable logic she uses is based on how much she likes a certain team’s name or location. She also refuses to pick Gonzage because she was burned in the past by them.  Anyway, she made her picks, I made mine and away we went.

To make a long story short, she crushed me.

Not only did she have 27 first round games picked correctly but she got the final seven games right picking the entire Final Four, the championship game and Kansas to win it all.  So, as an humble act on my part allow me to recognize Tar Heel Wife as the Bracket Queen of the THF home.

12 Responses to THF Confession

  1. Johnny says:

    I no longer “force” my wife to fill out a bracket for the same reason. She beat me three years in a row. When I was working in Sportsradio we did an office bracket. Obviously a bunch of really sports-minded folks. I was watching every game on the Dish (watching replays of Ivy league games in the middle of the night even). The big winner several years in a row was the GM of the company, who didn’t follow sports.

    I still do a bracket every year. But I work with a guy who stopped doing brackets a few years ago and said it is the best. He gets to enjoy every game without worrying about conflicts (what if UNC needs to lose for you ro win the bracket) or outcomes.

  2. Santiago says:

    That’s too bad THF. College basketball is the only sport Senora Santiago will watch with me. I guess I’m lucky. She and I are both Carolina alums and both Methodists. Of course, when I actually do vote, we rarely vote for the same candidate. Oh well, 2 out of 3 ain’t bad.

  3. C. Michael says:

    So, when Self leaves for Ok. State, does KU make an offer to Roy? 😉

  4. Santiago says:

    Only if they want a new reason to be mad at him.

  5. Asheville Heel says:

    I quit filling out brackets several years ago when I kept getting beat by people who don’t watch games at all. It is more fun to just watch and pull for whichever team stikes your fancy. Although, I always pulled for Dook to lose even when I had picked them; bracket be damned. On this thing with Roy and the Jayhawks; that’s just Roy being Roy. When he says that if he had known what it was going to feel like to leave Kansas he would have stayed, you can believe it! He said last night that he had 15 of his former Kansas players sitting in the stands. How would anyone think that he would not be pulling for Kansas last night. Although I understand where Roy is, I pulled for Memphis. The actions of (some) the Kansas fans towards Roy and UNC in the past week has soured me on them forever. They now move up behind Dook and Kentucky as the teams I will never, ever pull for in this lifetime.
    Finally, does anybody else think that Calipari is as dumb as I do? He must be the only person watching the game last night (besides Digger Phelps) who wouldn’t have called time out to be certain that his team fouled Kansas when they crossed half-court up 3 with little time on the clock. I’ll take my chances making them make free throws to get the ball bakc up 1 or the rebound if they miss. Did he not watch Chalmers in the Davidson game! Of course, if Memphis doesn’t pull a”Clemson” all this would be mute!
    Oh well, only eight months until we can start this again! Congratulations to the Heels for an excellent season!

  6. C. Michael says:

    I enjoy filling out the brackets using the “Dominant Mascot Theory.” 😉

  7. Tar Heel Fan says:

    You see I do not care for the foul up three plan because UNC lost to GT in Atlanta in 1989 doing that. They fouled, GT hit two free throws then GT stole the ball and Dennis Scott sent the Heels back to Chapel Hill with a loss.

  8. Doesn’t it always work out like that, with people who don’t follow basketball faring better in brackets?
    I distinctly remember in 1999 a woman picked teams based on their team colors, had all of the final four selected, and even picked the national championship game right. Pretty humiliating.

  9. Kat says:

    personally I love it when we “non-sports” wives get to one-up our hubbies by beating them on the brackets…

  10. Tar Heel Fan says:

    And just to tell you how bad she smoked me. I score the brackets 1 point for the 1st round, 2 points for the 2nd, 3 points for the 3rd…etc. She scored 101 points and I had 68.

    And had I entered her in the pool at the office she would have won that as well.

  11. THF Wife says:

    Thanks for the acknowledgement! And just to let you all know…this has happened for 8 years straight!!

  12. Russell says:

    “You see I do not care for the foul up three plan because UNC lost to GT in Atlanta in 1989 doing that. They fouled, GT hit two free throws then GT stole the ball and Dennis Scott sent the Heels back to Chapel Hill with a loss.” -THF

    This kind of “anecdotal logic” – still holding sway after19 years! – is what your wife is not subject to. Me neither.

Leave a Reply

