Winds of Change at THF

First of all, I would like to thank all of you who have made Tar Heel Fan a daily stop during the course of your daily web surfing.  I also appreciate the extent to which many of your have assisted in forming a community of readers via discussions in the comments section.  The site has grown tremendously since it came online two years ago, so much so it will necessitate a complete overhaul to accomodate more features and better control over the increasingly annoying troll population.

With this in mind I am presently working to move THF to a new web host running an independent version of WordPress.  At present I am running a free blog on the WordPress.com domain which has been great but I also am restricited in areas of customization as well as the ability to advertise.  There is also some limitations to what degree I can block trolls from commenting and it has always been my intention to keep this narrowly focused on intellectually honest discussion and without other fans flaming the site.

Some of the features I hope to have in place on the new site are:

  • User accounts for comments.  All commenters will be required to log in to comment and subject to approval for their first comments.  For many of you this is not a big deal since I recognize your email addresses and you will be approve right away.  Any trolls will find life more difficult since I can cut them off before they get into the public comments section.
  • Comment editing. On the new site you will be able to edit comments you have already left and correct any typos or what not.
  • Advertising. This is not so much a feature as it is my attempt to cover some of the costs of running on an independent web host.

I am still going through the process of testing various plugins and getting everything moved over from the current site.  As a result of this work, blogging might be a tad light since I am spending a great deal of time at night(when I normally would be writing) working on moving the site.

Thank you again for your readership, the comments and lively discussion and also your patience as I continue to work and make THF better.

25 Responses to Winds of Change at THF

  1. Chuckheel says:

    THF,
    I would just like to say, that I DEFINITELY appreciate your blog site. I find it to be not only informative, but you provide a lot of insight into Tar Heel athletics. Since GoHeels.com went out of business, there really wasn’t a place you go to get information and latest scoops. Thank you so much for filling that void.

  2. Robin says:

    I agree. This place is very informative and helpful.

  3. All the best in getting the new site up and running without a hitch! I look forward to seeing the new design. Let me know if I can help in any way.

  4. JPH says:

    Good luck on getting the new stuff setup – I look forward to trying out the new site and getting the good info from there.

  5. Silent Sam says:

    I’m impressed. Keep up the good work and good luck with the trolls.

  6. Zack says:

    THF –

    been a fan for a while. I had thought at one point about starting a similar UNC-focused blog that would have included ads, etc but ended up moving to a new job that was much busier and didn’t all the time – now I just do some personal blogging and still read a ton of others’ stuff. I think it’s fantastic how you’ve grown from just some guy writing about the Heels into having an authentic community, which is the beauty of web…any TarHeelFan can create and share with the world.

    Will continue to support you with pageviews and clickthrus on your ads to drive a little $ 🙂

    Zack

  7. MinnyTarHeelFan says:

    Good luck with the migration and thanks for the hard work this past season.

  8. Wilson says:

    THF! Thanks for your work man, we love it.

  9. Matt in the Mountains says:

    The best Tar Heel blog I’ve found. Thanks THF… I’m looking forward to reading and viewing in the future. Keep up the great work!

  10. jack says:

    Please don’t leave us hanging on big events. A couple years ago, wasn’t it tarheelblue did some work on their site when Dean made his big announcement. I don’t think you would let us down.

  11. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Heh…I am walking a fine line here. On one hand I would love to get moved over before the Big Three announce their intentions so I can take advantage of the news to begin rebuilding traffic to the site. However I do not want to be caught where I cannot discuss the issues. We will see how it goes. I am working on various setup issues on the new site and then when I move all the posts and comments over I will get into another round working out kinks there.

  12. e22 says:

    Good luck and thanks for all your efforts.

  13. Dan says:

    I love your site. Thanks for all of your hard work! I look forward to the updates.

  14. keithunc says:

    I love this site. I’m a Basketball guy and this site curbed my appetite for talking Heels. Hopefully this site will continue forever. Thanks for all you DO THF.

  15. Kat says:

    This is already a great site, can’t wait to see what you do with the new one. Thanks for all the great work and good luck coralling the trolls!

  16. DeanForever says:

    Many thanks now and many thanks in advance.

  17. TxTarheel says:

    You lead and we shall follow… just don’t be offering any kool-aid to the faithful (!) This a great resource for all things Tarheel, look forward to the new site with all the whistles.

    And by kool-aid I mean “funky/poisonous”

  18. Larry P says:

    I’m a fan of Tar Heel Fan. I found this site just a few months ago and now I’m hooked.
    Good to hear you’re upgrading. It’s a good time for construction, except for news about the three possible NBAers. But we can live until THF is up again and running stronger than ever.
    Thanks a bunch for all you do.

  19. rlb says:

    THIS HAS BEEN ONE OF THE WEBSITES I CHECK EVERYDAY. THANK YOU. AND PLEASE DONT MAKE IT A PAYSITE. LOL.

  20. Tar Heel Fan says:

    I work in the IT world so I believe in seamless transition from one to the next. Of course it never it seamless but we try to get as close as we can. And no, there will no Tar Heel Fan premium site. 🙂

  21. THF,
    I want to echo the thanks of all the others here for running a first-class, intelectually honest blog site.
    I enjoy your thoughts and analysis, and I also enjoy reading the same from everyone else that frequents the site. I’m anxiously awaiting the new site and looking forward to contributing.
    Keep up the great work!

  22. Howard says:

    One personal word of caution. I have enjoyed the site, check it out daily, and comment every now and then. But one writer once questioned whether I was a troll just because my comment offered a critical view. It does seem that most every comment is favorable to the Heels, regardless. I, personally, don’t think that’s a good thing. The Heels aren’t perfect. To comment on the imperfections fits into the concept of “intellectually honest,” so I hope you don’t plan on judging posters by whether their comments are pro or con the Heels.
    Not sure exactly how you’ll define a “troll,” but that could be a very hard task given your goals for the site. I, for one, am a Carolina grad. I love the Heels. But I’m not blind. Plus, I know people who are graduates of other schools who also love the Heels. Which is a “troll?” Are we both “trolls?”
    In my view, the criterion I’d use to judge suitability of a posting is something that I guess would be called “nastiness” and “personal ad hominem” commenting. That is, people who attack the person rather than deal with the issue raised. To disagree with a commenter’s opinion by calling them a “jerk” or something similiar – to me that is grounds for elimination. It’s so much better to deal with an opinion you disagree with by rebutting the opinion, leaving the writer out of the equation.
    Luckily, it’s been my experience that most of those who comment on this site seem to stick to that. The comments are well written and backed up not with name-calling but with facts. That’s one reason I enjoy returning to the site.
    So, I urge you to be cautious about what you use to decide whether to block a poster or not, maybe leaving it up to the particular individual post rather than to the poster.
    I know what I’m saying seems convoluted, but I just wanted to express my view. Hope you’ll take it in the spirit it was offered.
    Howard

  23. cltheel says:

    THF, go for it, change is good, not always understood or well received, but often very Utilitarian. . As stated by others above, you have provided a great service.

  24. Joe in Toronto says:

    Great blog and insights…good luck with the next step in the evolution of the site and keep those trolls out!!!!

  25. Dominic says:

    Looking forward to seeing the new design!

Leave a Reply

