Another Rumor If You Can Stand It

This one has both Ty Lawson and Wayne Ellington meeting with agents and going pro.

Brandon Staton, senior journalism student and former sports editor of the Daily Tar Heel says, based on “reliable sources” that Ellington has met with an agent and plans to enter the draft.  He also says Lawson has done the same posting it on his blog, The Offensive Board(see note at the end):

I have very reliable sources that have told me that Wayne Ellington has already met with agents and made the decision and that Lawson has more or less left himself with no other choice. Now, I heard similar rumors about Lawson at this time last season, but last night Lawson was spotted at Outback in Durham meeting with an agent. I was told that they were discussing the draft and the number 21 was mentioned, presumably about the time the North Carolina point guard would be chosen. That sounds about right to me. And according to that source, Lawson’s dad did not look happy. I’m sure North Carolina fans won’t be to happy either as their situation at the point will be the topic of conversation from now until March.

I will first state this could be a joke and I also would point out the guy is a senior at UNC and former sports editor of the school newspaper but refers to “North Carolina fans” as though he is not one of them which I find odd.

And while I could be very wrong here I am calling poppycock on the account.  The post was dated today, April 18th and refers to Lawson meeting with an agent at Outback in Durham “last night.”  If “last night” is to mean Thursday, April 17th then that strikes me as odd since the awards banquet was last night and Lawson was involved with that until after 9 PM.  I suppose it is possible that Lawson and his family trekked over to the Outback in Durham to meet with an agent but that seems odd to me.  And I know a former DTH sports editor probably has sources but I would think those sources would provide better information than an eyewitness account from the local Outback.  And does anyone else think the final line is very, very strange?

My sense is this “scoop” is garabage and while Ellington and Lawson might end up declaring for the draft it will not validate this information outside of him basically getting a 50-50 guess right.

NOTE: I have quote all of the post save one sentence here.  I am not linking to it since I do not want to give him traffic if this is a joke designed to capture traffic.

31 Responses to Another Rumor If You Can Stand It

  1. Josh Bowling says:

    Seems to be pretty credible at this point.

  2. Josh Bowling says:

    LOL

  3. Johnny says:

    Journalism students get hounded never to refer to teams as “we” or “us.” It lacks objectivity if that’s your goal (as is purportedly the goal of newspapers). Blogs titled Tarheel Fan obviously need not abide by theis creed, as that’s not the aim here.

    It would be disappointing if those two left. I wonder, though, how significant an impact that would have on Hansbrough’s decision. He may view it as another challenge to lead the new squad back to prominence–just as he did his freshman year.

    Wayne had some flashes of what he could be, but overall I thought the year was disappointing. If Green does away with the bone-headed plays, he could be a better all-around player given his rebounding and defensive abilities. And Graves, Drew and Frasor can fill it up too.

    And if Stephenson gets just a little offensive touch this summer, oh boy.

  4. 52BigGameJames says:

    so did these “very reliable sources” have one o those $19.95 amateur-Dick headphone receivers? must have, cause how else would they be able to eaves-drop and pick up the number 21…unless of course this “source” has a spy, who works as an Outback waiter for cover. one can never be too careful to reveal sources…just call him 86–maybe the mic’s in his shoe?

    http://www.geocities.com/televisioncity/3101/msmart.html

  5. Tar Heel alum and fan says:

    As much as I hate to say it I think all three are going. Hansbrough certainly played to his potential but aside from a national title what else has he to prove? Ellington and Lawson certainly are a different story – a case can be made that last season both had not reached their potentials;Lawson’s injury certainly set him back. But the allure of big money is overpowering: go in the first round and you are a millionaire, or close to it. Not a bad first job out of college…

  6. keithunc says:

    Yeah, My Spidey senses are tingling. I think EL and TY want to go. I in no way think they are ready. But the thing is you don’t have to be ready to get that cash, you just get less of it. Which is still a whole lot of green. This will will force Tyler to go. Oh well as sad as I am I enjoyed watching them for the last three years. One day it would be nice to see some Tarheels stars come and stay for four years.

  7. keithunc says:

    I have a stupid question. The Jackie Manuel site… Is it really Jackie or not?? Thanks

  8. Wilson says:

    On his Facebook it says he’s an ’06 alum. I also have one mutual friend with him. For those who care.

  9. Jenius says:

    My favorite quote of the off-season so far, from AP, Gene Hansbrough:

    “He’s very happy in Chapel Hill and he likes being a college student,” he said. “He’s a frugal person. He doesn’t need Rolexes and Escalades to be a happy person. … They may have to redshirt him to get him out of there.”

  10. All is rumor and conjecture at this point. Don’t believe a word until the official announcements are made. Unless someone produces a photo of Ty and his dad and this “agent” at Outback along with sound recordings of said conversation, it is b.s. and should be treated as such.

  11. Josh Bowling says:

    Hey KeithUNC, you said senior year, hell, I’d be happy to see them for a junior year. Ty and Ellington are only sophomores.

  12. Josh Bowling says:

    Man, I got this really good feeling about Tyler Zeller for some reason, at least on the offensive end. Maybe it’s because it has been a while since we have had a highly touted 7 footer.

  13. Wadsworth says:

    CDR just declared. That means -1 spot for each of the three on the draft chart. Good news for us! Come on Augustin!

  14. Tar Heel alum and fan says:

    And you could see how UNC was hurt by being relatively small in the Kansas game with all those over the top passes.

  15. Josh Bowling says:

    We will see soon how the players feel about Roy being on their side & having his support or not. If the players leave, we will know then that they feel betrayed by Roy and it could be a sign of things to come going forward. If not, we know that Roy truly supports his players and they feel comfortable around him, and his ability to take teams to the final 4.

  16. Josh Bowling says:

    And maybe we could get Franklin Street to finally shut up!!

  17. Johnny says:

    I don’t see how whether the players stay or go has anything to do with Roy’s support of them or a feeling of betrayal. This happens every year with every elite player and every elite team. These kids stand to achieve a childhood dream of making the NBA and an adult dream of making a lot of money. UNC is an elite team with elite players, so kids are going to leave and it does not reflect any animosity toward UNC. I would guess that nationally of all the kids leaving school early this year there are only a few that are leaving due to conflicts with the coach. And I have seen nothing of Ty, Tyler or Wayne to indicate they are at all unhappy with Roy. If they go, it looks to me to be just that they felt the timing was right.

  18. Tar Heel alum and fan says:

    As the Godfather said: “It’s not personal. It’s business.”

  19. Johnny says:

    Precisely.

  20. brightmma says:

    i hear alex stephenson is transferring has anyone got any info on that?

  21. Benny says:

    I’ve heard the same rumors about stephenson… any more info?

  22. brightmma says:

    i heard he is worried about playing time with “that zeller feller” coming on next season. But, i cant find any info on th web to back it up.

  23. Tar Heel Fan says:

    Andrew Jones at the Wilmington Star mentioned this last week, I have no idea if it is true. I do know that Stepheson said the issue with his father’s health was “behind him”

  24. Josh Bowling says:

    Stepheson should probably stay. We have no clue how Zeller is going to turn out. Stepheson could wind up being more productive than him.

  25. Maybe this guy worked with Dan Rather back in 2004………….
    I don’t buy it for one second. I believe Ellington and Lawson are both smart enough to realize that this hurts the big payday they’re thinking of with Rose and CDR declaring. I think one more year is all they’ll need to sharpen up some skills then they’ll be ready. Deep down they know that, but it just all boils down to how much the $$$ are talking to them.

  26. Triadboy says:

    The fact that they met at Outback instead of Applebees is encouraging, However, if they ordered the Blooming Onion – we’re screwed!

  27. Wilson says:

    Applebees is awful.

  28. robuck says:

    part of me thinks this has to be a joke – mainly because if I’m Ty Lawson and I (presumably) have an agent taking me and the fam out for a dinner to discuss draft positions, Outback is not the first restaurant on my list. Just saying, if someone else is footing the bill, I’m going a little more high class – but that’s just me.

    That said, (and I swear this is a true story) I do recall eating at Lenoir my sophomore year in the spring of ’94 and seeing Mia Hamm meeting with a marketing rep. No, I didn’t overhear the conversation, but I did see the marketing material the gentleman was presenting to her.

    Point being, maybe this report of an Outback meeting is a joke or a major misunderstanding on the part of the intrepid DTH reporter. Then again, maybe Outback is where Lawson loves to eat and that’s where he wanted to go.

    Guess we’ll all find out within the week, when the deadline has come. Either way, I guess the endless speculation is a great way to pass the time.

  29. Tar Heel Fan says:

    I would think if an agent was wining and dining a future client it would be somewhere where privacy would prevail.

  30. Josh Bowling says:

    I can’t image going to eat, seeing Lawson and a potential agent, and not taking pictures and seeing if they could be published, or even on a blog somwhere.

Leave a Reply

